The Steam sale extravaganza and finishing games

So if you missed it, Steam recently held their annual summer sale, where each day titles were deeply discounted, often down to a price of $2.49. I let myself go wild, spent around $200 on pretty much anything that caught my fancy. When all was said and done, I had over three dozen games in my Unplayed category, including the games I’d bought from previous Steam sales.

It was a lot of fun, but it also gave me the incentive to finish up several titles I’d let languish in a partial state. Since the sale ended, I’ve now finished Bastion (good story), CostumeQuest (nice dialogue options), LIMBO (fine until the end, when the puzzles started requiring split-second timing), and Metro 2033 (great story and combat). Decided I didn’t care to finish Legend of Grimrock and uninstalled it. And I’m now working my way through finally finishing Fallout: New Vegas (which would be a lot easier if it didn’t keep crashing to desktop).

Of the new games I bought, I’ve already installed Terraria (best $2.49 I’ve ever spent; I’ve already put in 33 hours), and A Valley Without Wind (9 so far). The latter is an odd but intriguing indie title, and I don’t even know how to explain what it’s about, because I still don’t quite get it. I’ve also played about 7 hours of Galactic Civilization II, but I’m not quite sure I’m interested in continuing. For one, it’s not co-op multiplayer. For another, there’s an insane amount of time spent just skipping turn after turn while you wait on something to happen. In Sid Meier’s Civilization V (which Galactic Civ II is similar to), in the early game there’s a lot of that, but later on, you’re doing stuff constantly. I may just move on to something else.

Other than that, also finished the original Dawn of War II campaign (co-op). Not liking Chaos Rising too much, though. I was disappointed to find we were still playing those pretentious douchebag Space Marines for one. For another, it just felt they cranked the, well, chaos, up to eleven for no reason. I’ll probably go for Torchlight next.

The games I bought (some of these were in indie bundles): Alter Ego, A Valley Without Wind, Atom Zombie Smasher, Blocks That Matter, BRINK, The Darkness II, Dead Space 2, Dear Esther, Droplitz, Dungeon Defenders, Evochron Mercenary, FEAR 3, Garry’s Mod, Galactic Civilization II, HOARD, Hunted: The Demon’s Forge, Killing Floor, Magicka, Quantum Conundrum, RAGE, Red Faction: Armageddon, Red Faction: Guerrilla, Sam & Max: Seasons 1-3, Sanctum, SOL: Exodus, Superbrothers: Sword & Sorcery EP, Swords and Soldiers HD, Terraria, Thief: Deadly Shadows, Trine 2, Two Worlds II, Universe Sandbox, Wings of Prey, X3: Albion Prelude, X3: Reunion, X3: Terran Conflict.

With all that, the games I already had (like Skyrim and The Sims 3 with all its xpacks), Guild Wars 2 starting in three weeks, and Borderlands 2 unlocking in six weeks (which I’ve already preordered), I won’t run out of games to play for a long, long time.

Leave a Reply

