Belize: Days 1 and 2

I meant to start this blog post earlier, but first Joe got sick, then I did. I’ve also been on a Skyrim kick lately. I think my Minecraft love is finally waning. I can go actual days without playing.

So we returned from Belize a couple weeks ago. By far, it’s my favorite country of the ones I’ve visited. Which isn’t many, admittedly, but it’s still my favorite.

Day 1

Day 1 was all about travel and logistics. After getting the cats to the vet for boarding, then racing to DFW, then being the last on the plane (we were perilously close to missing our flight), we were off. Two-and-a-half hours later, we set down at Belize’s international airport. Or maybe “international” airport would be more accurate. It’s a very tiny airport in a very tiny, very poor country.

From there, we took a charter flight on a Tropic Air Cessna Caravan to Dangriga, a coastal town, where we stayed at the Pelican Beach hotel for the night. It was a nice way to wind down after the hustle and bustle of dealing with airlines and security and customs.

Day 2

Day 2 started off with a nice, if hurried, breakfast by the beach.

 

From there, it was a bus to the docks, where we took a boat to Southwest Caye on the Glover’s Reef Atoll. This would be our home for the next two nights. The safari tents we stayed in were okay, but I have to admit, I could really do without compost toilets. I think I like my accommodations a wee bit more upscale.

After getting situated, it was time to hit the water! The first thing they wanted to do was train us in kayaking. It took a little too long, admittedly. We were there for snorkeling, after all, and making us wait while they showed us how to flip a kayak, how to steer, how to paddle, etc. was a little annoying. One of my first impressions of Belize was that they’re a very safety-conscious country. But I enjoyed the kayaking, so it wasn’t all bad.

Finally, it was on to our first snorkeling. This was a guided “tour” of a nearby reef, where we saw a lot of beautiful wildlife. Here’s the part where I make people doubt my sanity. I found snorkeling merely okay. It was neat. I saw some awesome underwater life. But in the end, it was sticking your face in an aquarium. It was looking at things. I don’t hate it, and I’m not saying I wouldn’t do it again. I just simply didn’t think it was the mind-altering event everyone else seemed to think it was. I enjoyed the kayaking much more.

So ends day 2. We returned to the beach to clean up and rest until dinner. The food on the atoll was exquisite. I’m not exaggerating when I say I’ve never had food that good every single meal. Even stuff I normally might not care for was absolutely delicious.

Next week, days 3 and 4. Day 3 is another day on the atoll, day 4 takes us back to the mainland and into the jungle.

For many more photos, click here to see my Photobucket album.

Leave a Reply

